top of page

My One Hour Study

Dance Training: Examining the Effects of Pre-workout Supplements

Abstract:

My study explores the effects of pre-workout supplements on dancers’ levels of energy, mental stability and endurance during a dance class.

Why I have decided to study this:

I have decided to research this specific project to see if there is a way for dancers to increase the amount of energy they have while performing in classes. Personally, as my age increases I continue to notice how my body is constantly changing. The biggest change I’ve noticed in my body is the fluctuation I have with my energy, the ability to focus during class and my levels of endurance during a technique class. I hope to find that pre-workout supplements have a positive effect on dancers while they are performing in class. If there is something that dancers could take to increase their levels of energy, focus and endurance while including a nutritional benefit we should try it out and search for more positive enhancers.

Hypothesis/Expected Results:

I expect to find that the dancers that do receive the opaque cups full of “smart water” with the added Vega Sport Pre-workout discover that the pre workout indeed increases their energy, focus and endurance during a class.

Methodology:

Through an observed experiment followed by written and verbal interviews, I will answer my main question of “What are the effects pre-workout supplements have on dancers’ energy, focus and endurance while performing throughout a dance class?” My study will be conducted on 4 dancers and take place during a portion of Eddie’s Morning Technique class . I will have all 4 dancers fill out a survey on how they feel prior to taking the supplement. (Group A = 2 dancers) will both receive “Vega Sport: Sugar free energizer (prepare)” added in their “Smart water” and consume the product 20 minutes before the dance class. (Group B = 2 dancers) will both receive plain “Smart water” with food dye added and consume 20 minutes before a dance class. I will have all 4 dancers fill out a survey on how they feel after consuming their products, during class as well as video recording each of the dancers during a class. I will have all 4 dancers fill out a survey on how they feel after the hour portion of the class is over. I expect to hold an interview with all dancers after the classes so the dancers can explain how they felt after the entire process while being video recorded.

Data:

Group A: (These dancers received the supplement- Vega pre-workout supplement & Smart water)

Dancer 1:

Prior to taking supplement: How do you feel?

“felt tired”

During class: (Rate on a scale of 1-10)

Level of Energy: 7 Stamina: 6 Endurance: 7

Post class: How do you feel?

“feels a little shaky”

Do you believe the supplement worked ?:

“Maybe a little bit”

Dancer 2:

Prior to taking supplement: How do you feel?

“good just don’t want to go to class”

During class: (Rate on a scale of 1-10)

Level of Energy: 9 Stamina: 9 Endurance: 10

Post class: How do you feel?

“I feel tired”

Do you believe the supplement worked ?:

“yes, it helped my energy and endurance but my stamina fluctuated”

Group B: (These dancers received the Placebo-Smart water and food dye)

Dancer 1:

Prior to taking supplement: How do you feel?

“Pretty Good”

During class: (Rate on a scale of 1-10)

Level of Energy: 7 Stamina: 7 Endurance: 6

Post class: How do you feel?

“I feel good!”

Do you believe the supplement worked ?

“maybe toward the end, at the beginning I didn’t feel too good.”

Dancer 2:

Prior to taking supplement: How do you feel?

“good! awake for once”

During class: (Rate on a scale of 1-10)

Level of Energy: 7 Stamina: 7 Endurance: 7

Post class: How do you feel?

“Great! awake, energized, worked!”

Do you believe the supplement worked ?

“yes”

Outcome:

I originally expected to find that the dancers with the pre workout supplement would feel an increase in their energy, stamina and endurance. For starters, none of the dancers knew if they had the supplement or placebo until after the experiment and data collection was over. However, one of my dancers with the supplement felt it worked and had an increase in her energy, stamina and endurance. My other dancer who took the supplement only felt a little bit of an increase and that maybe it worked. I decided that it may work but I’m not 100% confident now and I may need to test this again on more dancers and see how it affects more dancers during class. But, when observing the data from my dancers with the placebo I was a little thrown off. I expected to find that the dancers with the placebos felt no change or maybe worst, but not in this situation. Both dancers felt a little increase in their energy, stamina and endurance as well as thought that the supplement actually worked. Now, I am faced with the challenge of discovering if pre-workout supplements actually work or if its all just a mental game.

My experience:

At first I was a little skeptical about this project. Mainly, because I could not decide what I wanted to study and experiment. It took me weeks before I actually decided on this. However, I truly had a grande time working on this project. It forced me work outside of my comfort zone a little bit while working in my comfort zone at the same time. While working through the experiment process, I honestly expected a simple result. But because of the results that I have received I am given the opportunity to continue experimenting and work on receiving an actual result. I am determined now to discover if pre-work out supplements

actually work or if they are a mental game or what pre-workout supplements work best for dancers.


bottom of page